One day at the time

Right now I’m pretty tired. The third day in as many days that I’ve worked the closing shift. And I’ve got to work tomorrow all day as well. My brain is tired right now. I’m tired. But also very content. I’m happy to be alive. I Love my job. Today have been a mix between cleaning up in the Fantasy-Sci-fi-Horror shelf, so that I next week can start on the whole project of going through the other shelves and pick out the good stuff that have gotten to some other shelf when it shouldn’t. Nobody have really done anything in this genre the last few years. So I’m doing it.

I’ve also been working on the booksale, a whole years collection of books that have done their duty on our shelf. We can’t throw it all away when we need new space, so apparently, a whole week of the year, we sell it of at a low price, and we use the money for new books. A few at least. We sell them REALLY cheap. But working with that involves a lot of dragging dusty boxes through the basement and heavy lifting. Worked there for about 3 hours today.

But the best today was when I got to talk to an old lady who grew up in Japan. That was awesome. We talked for 30 minutes about the food, the loss of the language when we don’t have the opportunity to use it here, Japanese popular culture, and things we miss. Love it that the conversation was both in Japanese and Swedish.

The rest of the evening I’m going to try reading for a while. But I think the bed does have the advantage on me. *yawn* But first I’m going to listen to an old favourite. I loved the first time I heard it, and whenever I’m happy and in a Japanese flow I always end up humming to this tune..

Leave a comment