Hands dyed red of beets.

I’ve been pretty sluggish all day, amused by the simplest things. I’ve gone on a short walk about in my neighbourhood, found my local library and talked to the nice lady in the Asian food shop as I giggling gathered Pocky and ginger-snacks to me. I was proud of my five read books, and then I went and found another 4 to bring home with me. One less then when I started this morning, so I guess points for that?

The last hour I’ve been boiling and scrubbing beets for my warm beets salad with goats cheese I’m going to bring to work tomorrow. I really tried with the gloves first, but couldn’t really get a good grip on the skin, and every beet took forever to skin. So I decided to try without the gloves, and yes, it did go much more smoothly and now my hands match my Pink sofa quite nice. Good of me to do this tonight and not tomorrow. At least I’m going to have another shower and do stuff with my hair before leaving the house tomorrow. That should hopefully take some of the colour out. Otherwise I’m going to get teased at work. Have to shut them all up with my awesome cooking then..

Note to self. Buy better gloves if I’m to do this again.

Teapot came around with a small bookshelf I asked if she could buy for me at IKEA, it being 1 hour away by buss, and she going there yesterday with her mother. She did, and came around with it today. Saying stuff about being inspired by my flat and my taste for the unusual. Made me blush with all those kind words. I’m not sure I live in the prettiest flat, because I can still find things that bugs me. But happy that someone else find as much pleasure in it as I do. I’m one of those people who functions best in surroundings that reflect beauty and reminds me of all the beautiful things in life. Like my passion for books, religion, food, geek stuff. How a pot of tea can be all that one needs after a long day at work. My home should give me a sense of peace, of belonging. And it’s going there.

Now I’m going to bed, hoping to finish the cleaning of the kitchen tomorrow, so that it’s done by Friday since I’m going up to visit my family in the Big Apple. I still need to do the laundry. Only 2 pairs of clean socks left. Need to buy new shoes that doesn’t eat socks.

Here is a song about socks. Because.

Leave a comment