0

The perks of being a librarian.

Not only am I allowed to work with people who consider literacy is of grave importance, but also believes in individuality and the possibilities that comes with culture and exchanges of thoughts. Not only am I surrounded by books that invites to exploration of thought, of ideas and gives me the option to live several lives in several worlds. Not only do I get to meet the most interesting people, I also have the possibility to make someone’s day better. I have the possibilities to show the world to someone.

But tonight I have the perk of having three pieces of cake in my fridge after a rather nice but busy evening when the YA section had a opening ceremony with free cake, soda and coffee. And of course, we kept giving away what was left after the ceremony was over, and the hours kept going later. But at closing time, three pieces of cake was left. So I cleaned away the coffee stains, poured the last soda out of the bottles, washed the tray and then packed the three pieces for going into the fridge. But then my bearded co-worker told me to take it home with me, nothing to save. Three pieces is not going to feed the entire staff tomorrow, and there is no possibility to sell it. So rather than throwing it out, or creating a boxing-event where the winner is going to take it all at 9:30 coffee tomorrow, my long day ended with me carrying three pieces of, hopefully not too, stale cake.

The perks is great, and sometimes you even get cake. And also some new music. I got this after having a quite nice discussion with one of the art-gallery co-workers, and her question if I knew any steampunk music. I did not, but my favourite hangout on FB did know some.. And I’m a happy girl right now ^^ Cake and music. Can it become any better?